New Facebook software steals password

Posted on Jun 10 2015 - 12:47am by TekGuru

So hackers are at it again, passing around  a new software that tells you when someone has unfriended you. Since so many people today want to know who’s been creeping on them and who has not been creeping on them, people are willing to install new software in hopes to add new features to their Facebook.  One such features that seems people want is to know whom unfriended them.

Security researchers at Malwarebytes have warned users of the UnfriendAlert app saying that the notorious app asks users to login with their Facebook credentials to activate unfriends monitoring and alert service for your Facebook profile. Facebook has provided API OAuth login system for third party applications, where users don’t need to provide their Facebook credentials to them. So you should never submit your Facebook password to any third party service or desktop software in any case.
Once you enter your information into this software, the information is then sent to “yougotunfriended.com” which is owned by the hackers which use that information to gain access to your account.
If you have made the mistake of installing that software, remove it from your computer and change your facebook password ASAP and ANY OTHER PASSWORD THAT IS THE SAME PASSWORD. Because lets face it once hackers have access to your Facebook account, they now know your email for that account and will try to gain access to it as well. And for most people that can lead to some serious trouble down the road.
For latest hacking and security news make sure to book mark us and check back often! Also feel free to join our new forum and ask for anything you would need.
About the Author

I love anything that is tech related, gaming, science, movies ect. I am the owner and founder of AllThatTek.

Leave A Response